The Stuff.

 D

ear Readers,

I apologize for my absence. Firstly, some good Stuff: the Haiku Kung Fu Champion is Cheri! Congrats to her, and thanks to all of your for playing. I announced it here.

Secondly, some very sad Stuff: I just returned from an eleven day surprise trip to San Diego. My sister, who was six and a half months pregnant, lost her baby in a mysterious way- her baby’s little heart just randomly stopped beating. It was an emotional weekend, as my sister had to be induced into labor and deliver her baby.  Just heartbreaking. Apparently this happens more frequently than most people realize, and medically the doctors can’t usually find a reason for it. The doctor said that occasionally there is something like a knot in the cord but usually, it’s just this totally mysterious thing that happens, and they just don’t have any answers for it. I was surprised to hear that.  It’s just so sad, and seems so wrong and unfair. My sister was so happy to be pregnant and was so healthy, as was the baby. It makes no sense. We will all miss the chance to see little Sofia grow, and are hopeful that maybe her spirit will return when my sister is ready to try again. Any prayers for Sarah and her husband Tony will be appreciated. They need all the help they can get to make it through their grief and be ready to try again.

Thirdly, some more sad and scary Stuff: Valena, a dear friend of mine gave birth to her baby girl, Olive, just a few days before my sister lost little Sofia, and little Olive is now fighting for her life. She was born full term, and thought to be totally healthy, when at the last minute just before Valena and hubby John were about to take her home, a nurse had a funny feeling and wanted to give Olive a quick ultrasound. Turns out she found bleeding in Olive’s brain, and they discovered that she was having these strange invisible seizures. Olive stopped breathing in Valena’s arms at one point, and has been in the NICU ever since. The doctors have found no reasons for any of this- Olive is otherwise healthy. They are hopeful for Olive’s full recovery, but it has been pretty taxing on Valena and John, and on Monday, Olive’s two week birthday, they just recieved word that Olive will need to have some sort of tube dealy put in her head to drain some of the fluid out. This is sad because Valena had been told that Olive was doing great and may be able to go home on Friday. Now she’s about to get another round of MRI’s CT scans and the like. I can’t imagine how frustrating the waiting and wondering is for them. My heart just aches to think of it. If you are a person who says prayers, I will share this one with you, it comes from my friend Amanda in Australia:

Lord I pray for Olive. I pray for complete healing of her brain. I pray that the doctors wouldn’t be able to explain the miracle you will do. I believe in FAITH God that you desire to give this girl life and life to the fullest. Heal her Lord!!! I also pray for Valena that she would rest in you during this time. May she know that you love her little girl as much as she does and that she can relate to you in that way. I pray that this would bring her family closer than ever before and that they would believe for a miracle as a strong unit. I pray that if they don’t know you yet, Lord that through this process you would give all of them life with you- eternal life. I love you Lord and thank you that you hear our prayers. Amen

 

Valena & John and Baby Olive need all the prayers  they can get at the moment. They are the sweetest family, and have already had their share of medical hardships, as Valena has been battling Lupus since she was nineteen. Get strong, little Olive!

Finally, my Stuff: I will be taking a break from this blog for a while to get my head on straight. As some of you know, I wrestle with Bipolar II disorder. It isn’t fun, and I think I need to just stop everything I’m doing and focus on getting better. I’m reluctant to take drugs, so I’m on the lookout for a natural remedy if at all possible.

Last night I actually came across a website that reports eating 4-5oz of fish per day gives your body 72+ trace minerals that are typically missing from our American diet, due to the way our crops are grown. Apparently, if you eat seafood EVERY DAY, after about three months your body & brain should be feeling really healthy, and whether you suffer from Bipolar Disorder or Diabetes, or even Lupus or Cancer, this “eat something from the sea each day” diet will heal you. Many of the diseases we experience in AMerica are nearly non-existent in Japan and China, where seafood is a staple part of the diet.  I’ll be back in a few months with a full report.

In my time away, I will also be writing as much as I can. It is a goal of mine to finish a manuscript this year and submit to/ get accepted by an agent or publisher before the year is out. I find that I spend more time messing about on this blog than I do writing, and that ratio needs to change if I am to accomplish this goal.

I appreciate you all, and thank you for sticking with me on this little journey so far. I’ll be back soon, and if you should ever care to get in touch, just leave me a comment or send me an email at 88words (at) gmail.com. I will respond immediately.

Cheers, Hugs, and Happy Almost Spring!

Chelsea

 

6 Responses

  1. Ahhh…hugs to you and your family and friends. Sending lots of prayers and good wishes.When I was in high school I did a paper on breast cancer and was amazed that the Chinese and Japanese had very low rate of occurrence. Did more research and realized how different their diet was from ours. So I believe diet is a huge factor in many of our diseases and quirks.

  2. My heart goes out to your sister and her husband and as well to Valena and John and wee Olive. Difficult times for sure.Take care of yourself Chelsea.XOK

  3. You are a hard girl to find and I’ve been thinking about you. My prayers to your friends and family.I’d love to knowwhat the "sea" diet does for you. I’ve been living on tofu lately.Let me know how you are, sweetie.

  4. Oh…..so, so sad for your sister.Hope the blog break and the seafood diet offer you some relief. I’ll be thinking of you…

  5. Chelsea, my heart is breaking for you and your family and freinds. You are all in my prayers and thoughts through this nightmare. Please take care of yourself. We’ll be right here when you’re ready to come back.

  6. nice blog

Leave a Reply

