From the Red Room to the Red Hat

Five years ago yesterday, I met my hubby at The Red Room in San Francisco. In a wiley scheme involving a sassy red hat named after yours truly and my friend Emily from Moe Sew Co. my husband arranged for me to be opening a box on Saturday night to celebrate our five year anniversary. What a sly dog. With a sly helper. When I opened it, thinking, Wow, Emily, HUGE box for a PEN…” was I ever elated to discover MY HAT!

I had actually planned to arrange a layaway payments with Emily that might have taken the rest of my life to pay off, because Could I really live without the Main Chelsea Hat?! NO! I freakin’ love it, and now I’m afraid some shopping is in order so I can have an outfit worthy of such a topper. (Oh, darn.)

In addition to having a very sweet and thoughtful husband who was tricky and secretive and surprised me completely,  I have to take a minute to point out that Emily’s craftsmanship is absolutely stunning. This hat is even more beautiful in person than when I coveted it on FaceBook, where she first posted pix of it. I will cherish it always.

Actually… it kinda makes me want to dive between the sheets with the hubby and make that baby girl I never got, just so I can give her this sweet hat one day. Then I can say, “Your mom was so amazing, they named a hat after her. A red one. And then your crazy red headed daddy smuggled it secretly to me.”  And then I’d probably tell her that it was a magical hat that would make unicorns and fairies come to life when she wears it, and make all her wildest dreams come true.

6 Responses

  1. WAY TO GO, NATE!

  2. Nate scores!

  3. N8 rocks!And Chelsea, you look super cute in that hat.

  4. Nate, Nate, really great;Buying that spiffy red hatWhich Chelsea so craved! [Hope you no mind, but Junipero want to get dinero’s worth from "Advanced Haiku Algorithm for Piñatas"].¡El sombrero es magnífico!Su amigo,Junipero

  5. I am soooooo happy you love it. I’m SOOOOOOO happy to have been a part of the conspiracy. You look stunning in it, of course, but that’s because it was made for you. Well done N8!

  6. ¡El sombrero es magnífico! HAHAHA! SO TRUE!

Leave a Reply

