Bookplate Junkie

I have always been a huge fan of bookplates, also known as Ex Libris, meaning “from the library of” in latin, and I have been meaning to start designing them for quite sometime. I don’t know why I haven’t.

Today I stumbled upon a fun blog, Confessions of a Bookplate Junkie, which chronicles one man’s obsession with vintage bookplates. There are some fabulous images and inspiration on his site, and I daresay this gave me just the kick in the butt I needed.

I’ve even committed to my latest design journey by picking out some lovely cream labels for said project. I am planning to design several templates using images from my collection of vintage illustrations, so that I may offer them for sale in my shop to be personalized with a name or message. I may even entertain the idea of designing custom bookplates from scratch, if a certain theme is desired that I don’t carry yet. I have a feeling I will be designing these like crazy, as they will be such fun! Stay tuned!

Check out this very sassy vintage bookplate I came across today…

3 Responses

  1. Just one more thing we have in common. I adore bookplates.

  2. totally cool book plate! nice to see your new blog…

  3. Wow, very daring for the time period. But sensual. You have a great blog!

Leave a Reply

